Do I Have to Have a Gift to Do Anything Spiritual?

Question:  If I don’t have the gift of giving does that mean I don’t have to tithe? 

Answer:  Even though no one has all the gifts, all Christians are called upon in some limited capacity to utilize all the gifts.  So, for example, when I am with someone who is hurting, though my gift might be to teach them, I must also exercise mercy, encouragement, faith, healing, serving and any host of other gifts.  All Christians are to be leaders wherever they are, to be witnesses wherever they are, to teach their children and others, and to give to God’s purposes.  In other words, even though the focus of my ministry to others will be in my gifting, I need to develop some ability in all the areas of gifting.

Leave a Reply

